Cardens move to the Old Casino
Cardens have moved into the Old Casino on the top floor of the Hove Club after 14 years at our previous address at 73 Church Road in Hove. The top floor of the building was formerly a Grosvenor Casino which eventually closed its doors due to relocating elsewhere in the city.
The towering red brick building believed to be designed by Alfred Waterhouse (who also designed the original Hove Town Hall which suffered a fire in 1966) has been standing since the 1890s. It is home to the Hove club which was founded in 1882.
The building at 28 Fourth Avenue is a unique red brick structure which imposes itself on its surroundings and is packed with features from the era. The most prominent features are the high ceilings and entrance to the top floor which guides you up its grand staircase to the new Cardens offices.
When it came to moving into the Old Casino it was discovered that most of the original fixtures and furnishings were still in place. When the work started the old gaming tables and casino chips were still left from when it was once a bustling gaming environment. After several weeks of major refurbishments the old casino was transformed into the new Cardens offices. Here are some pictures of the refurbishment process: